Vegan Chicken Salad

One of my all time favorite warm weather foods is chicken salad. The restaurant I work at serves it on toasted croissants and I pretty much lived off the stuff last summer. As the weather warms up and the days get longer, I’m growing antsy for spring and all the good food things that come along with it, put this season they will be veganized!

IMG_5250

VEGAN CHICKEN SALAD

  • 1 cup TVP (or 2 Gardein chicken breasts)
  • 1/4 cup Vegenaise (or make your own vegan mayo)
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, diced
  • one stalk of celery, diced
  • dozen or so green grapes, halved
  • salt, pepper, and parsley to taste

Most of the vegan “chicken” salad recipes I was able to find online featured tofu, which I actually enjoy a lot…when it’s prepared for me. I’m still a little intimidated by the pressing and cooking process of tofu, so luckily for me there are lots of TVP (texturized vegetable proteins) available nowadays. You can buy TVP flakes which must be soaked in water, or check out the frozen section of Wegmans for products like Gardein that makes a great “chicken breast” of pea and soy proteins. Either way, prepare the mock meat as the directions indicate and allow it to cool in the fridge.

Once your chick’n has cooled, shred it into bite size pieces and mix it in a bowl with all of your other ingredients. I know the grapes may seem like an odd addition, but they add a bright flavor pop to the salad that it desperately needs! I served this in a pita pocket with iceberg lettuce, but it would also be great on whole grain toast.Happy eating!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

